Jane Eyre

   Some time ago I was visiting my grandparents and came across this
book written by Charlotte Bronte. I actually was fairly excited
to read this book, especially because it was in my native language.
The story may seem quite simple at first, but believe me when I
say, it's not. It begins with a short backstory about Jane Eyre, how
she was living with her deceased maternal Uncle's family the Reeds.
Unfortunately, Aunt Reed and her three children didn't treat her better
than a prisoner and soon enough sent her to the Lowood School where
she made true friends and later became a teacher. At the age of eighteen
Jane felt the desire to leave the school and start afresh.
The fresh start begun with her working at Thornfield Hall as a governess.
While working there, she gets to know everybody as well as Mr. Rochester.
At first he was rather cold to her, unpleased with her work, but later
on becomes more welcoming, even showing signs of romantic feelings.
But these signs sometimes came across as confusing, because of Mr. Rochester's mood changes. Which in my opinion already were a red flag. After some time, when things between them seemed to go really well, Jane learned some horrifying truths about Mr. Rochester's life. The last forty pages reveal a bad incident at Thornfield Hall and how the two deal with it. At the end, in my surprise, they were both happy.
Personally, I thought that there would be a sad ending, but fortunately I was wrong. I loved the way Charlotte Bronte wrote this book. Something about the writing, the words. They just made me think
how some modern day books are written, with no passion or true words of love. I haven't read many books with similar emotion.
While reading the book, I felt as if I, myself, was in Love.
That's how strongly she felt while writing it. That's how I want to write.

Books| Love| Charlotte Bronte


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started